57 Days until Ironman Lake Placid – Training Report

Well, after yesterday I started the day a little slow. Sure, I felt great about it…but certainly I was tired and a few aches and pains reminded me that I had certainly built on my previous level. My ankle is swollen..and bruised and I expect slightly sprained. I am wearing my brace again…no sense in testing the devil.

The plan today was 75K ride – 10K run and 75K ride. I am assuming the purpose for this is somewhere between shocking the body and fatiguing it to the approx. levels of Ironman in July. 6hrs + 37 minutes yesterday with the addition of 6hrs today puts the time in. The body does not know the difference between the day, just slightly rested.

The ride started good, and I knew I was overdressed fairly quickly. I crossed through Merrickville and headed to Kemptville through Burrits Rapids. The wind was slightly at my back and I was cruising along fairly well. Main focus today was nutrition.

I averaged about 30K/hr there, not quite as much snap in the legs as yesterday.

I started feeling a slight twinge/ache behind my knee. It manifested itself from ache, to hurt to pain by about 50K. Not good. Now I have a slight sprain on my left ankle and some locked muscles behind my right knee.

I arrived home completing the first 75K in 2 hrs 33 minutes. Not too bad, but when I got off my bike it became apparent that my knee was not going to cooperate. I did try to run but the ankle and knee are not happy. I decided to shut the day down from there.

So, I went from 18 hours to 11hrs 42 minutes in training this week..just like that.  I am puzzled..because it felt so good yesterday.

I do have a little bit of anxiety. What will the impact be on Ironman be because of this? Am I within the window where this will put me down?  My goal is to not only complete Ironman, but do it well. No Kona this year mind you, but certainly something under 12 hours.

We’ll see. The new plan comes out this week from Richard and I’ll see what June brings.

Rating 1 ( horrible ) – 5 (Excellent)

Feeling – 3

Fatigue – 3

Effort – 3

Physical – 2

Leave a Reply

