Florida Training Camp March 13th–18th

Where have I been? Time flies when you’re having fun..thats all I can say. So, to tell the truth…first this is a quick update and from there..I start talking about the training camp.

Training has been going very well, I feel great. I have really noticed the Heart rate coming down very fast. The biggest challenge I have found, is fitting everything into the week. Once you get above 10 hours…it gets tough. Especially with 3 kids under 10. But thats what I choose, and honestly, would not have it any other way.

So – what’s happened? I ran a Half Marathon in 1 hr 30 minutes. Boo-yah! My PB and something I have been chasing for about a year. Some good swims in place, have really enjoyed them. Overall, a real good month in February and definitely a stepping stone forward.

The Training camp is put on by my coach and basically consists of daily activities, always morning, which allows us to hang with the families in the afternoon.

Day 1 – a great ride, 83K. A little nerve wracking in some places, but overall not too bad. I really enjoyed getting back on the bike and feeling the warm air rushing past me. Felt good, had some really strong pulls with the group and I rode some really strong drafts. Nutrition 2.25 bottles and 2 gels. Feeling very strong, very excited.

Day 2 – 92km, Wow…I thought Florida was flat. Nope. You guys who live there have some great terrain and variation. We rode above Sugar Loaf Hill which was quit an experience, and one that helped me realise I could use some more hill training. On the back 30, I finally blew up. My max speed was about 29K/hr and once I got to any sort of climb…well…forget about it. I made my way home on solar power and the cells were low. My recovery shake tasted very very very good. Nutrition 3.5 bottles and 2 gels. Feeling blown up and chewed up.

Day 3 – After blowing up yesterday, time to back off and do some recovery. I went out early enough and did a nice little 11K, averaging 4:29/km. To the pool afterwards and then the hot tub. I could get use to this living. Feeling – okay. Great to be running again.

Day 4 – 78km, Nice way to spring back. Richard had us on a great ride today, and I managed a couple of strong pulls. Including a leading pull back worth about 5K @ 35-40K/hr. It was a confidence booster for me to get back like that and get the legs working where they should be. Nutrition – 3 bottles, 2 gels. Feeling – good.

Day 5 – 69K, really nice ending ride. Some of the folks were leaving afterwards and as such, Richard did not want to tire them out too much. Feeling – good, strong. Did a small 3K run with Richard afterwards. Nuitrition – 3 bottles, 2 gels. Feeling – Strong.

Later Gators.

Leave a Reply

