170 days until Lake Placid

Crappy week, actually, overall a couple of crappy weeks. Went into a bit of a tailspin but managed to shake it off Mid week. Why? Who knows. I am sure I cannot be the only one.

New training schedule from my coach is being worked on right now. Can hardly wait to see it.

So, after 4 week so official training, how am I feeling ?

9 hours scheduled this week.

Running – went through my usual mid winter shin splints, but I seemed to have shaken them off. Tomorrow is a 25K run, so I’ll have a better feel for it then. Certainly, on the shorter distances my pace continues to average around 4:30/km with race pace being between 4:10 and 4:20. Tomorrow’s 25K is supposed to be at 4:40 – 4:45, so we’ll see what we can make of it. Running distance in winter is always a pain, because your drinks do end up freezing. Luckily, the temp is only supposed to go down to around – 5..so with some luck we will be okay.

Swimming – feeling good, noticing a big difference in my technique and strength this year. I am really trying to “pony” up no the techie portion to try and gain some speed. It’s about the only way outside of effort to go quicker, and I am nervous about trying to expend more energy. I need to save all I can. 3 times a week, 2KM min usually.

Cycling- hard to say, you’re on a trainer which although is a good substitution..is not the real thing. I feel good, heart rate usually around 130-140 with cadence around 70-80. Feel good…but really want to be back on the road riding.

Strength – Oh god, give me strength….literally. I hate…hate…hate this. I never liked weights. There has to be a better way to gain core strength.

My focus is really strong right now, if I feel myself drifting, I simply remember my goal. That brings me back quickly.

 

Leave a Reply

