184 days until Ironman Lake Placid–Introspective

Wow, where is time going? I can hardly believe that it’s coming so quickly.

As time marches on, I find myself aligning and focussing more on my target event. Physically training is happening almost daily and mentally it appears I am becoming aligned as well. I bounce between being excited, nervous and scared. Doubts will sometimes creep into my head..can I make it? Will my body and mind hold up? The answer of course is Yes…(I refuse to consider anything else ), but I also wonder what other athletes feel.

You basically give up normal life. Everything becomes focussed on the race. Saturday morning, I roll out of bed at 5:30am on a –20 day because I need to. Sunday morning likewise. All of this, at a cost. Training, wherever it is, becomes part of a routine that I must follow as opposed to “nice to do”. There is no time for beer, late nights and fast foods.

Why?

I am not sure yet what drives me. Why it is driving me. At my current level of fitness I could easily keep doing the Olympic Tri’s in the area and compete at a fairly strong level. Yet I choose to alter my path for this.

When most people are in bed, I find myself piling layers of clothes on to ensure my parts all remain intact for my July race as I head outside for a run.

This path I am on promises to reveal a lot about me over the next 26 weeks. I am eager for it.

As I head into mid life, I think there is much to be learned.

Leave a Reply

